Why we don’t vaccinate

My husband, wonderful man that he is, took the time to write out exactly why it is that we don’t vaccinate and I can’t say it any better than he did so I’m just going to copy and paste instead. ;)

Vaccines are a potent cocktail of ingredients that most people take without thought or hesitation. I am thankful that my wife started the research that eventually lead us to the decision to no longer vaccinate our children.  As such, I thought some would benefit from our findings and help you understand why we don’t vaccinate. Here is a list of some common ingredients found in vaccinations:

Formaldehyde
Found in: DTaP (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis), Biothrax (anthrax), DTP (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis), IPOL (polio), Tripedia (tetanus)

While it is safe to assume everyone knows that formaldehyde is a bad thing, I thought it necessary to back it up with a list of the dangers. Studies have shown that short term exposure to the chemical produced burning sensations in the eyes, nose, and throat; wheezing; nausea. Research has also been done that suggests it is linked to cancer in nasal sinuses, nasopharnyx, brain and possibly leukemia. In 1987, the EPA classified it as a possible human carcinogen.

Thimerosal
Found in: DTaP, DPT, Energix-B (hepatitis B), FluShield (influenza, flu shot), HiB Titer (influenza), Menomune (meningococcal), Rabbies vaccine, Recombivax (hepatitis B), Tripedia

Thimerosal is used as a preservative in most vaccines. The major concern with its use is the high concentration of mercury, which has been linked to mental disorders.  Several alarming studies showed a significant increased odds ratio for autism, mental retardation, speech disorder, personality disorders, and thinking abnormality in children who received thimerosal-contained vaccines as opposed to those who did not. This is a huge controversy in the medical world, as other research suggests there is not a link between the two. It is also interesting to note that ethylene glycol, also known as anti-freeze, is a major component of the chemical makeup of thimerosal.

Phenol
Found in: Dryvax (smallpox), Imovax (rabbies), NYVAC (smallpox), Pneumovax (streptococcus), Typhim Vi (typhoid)

Also known as carbolic acid, it is often used in weed killers and disinfectants. In some cases, it can be used to clean wounds. However, it is considered extremely toxic if digested.

Human Diploid Cells
Found in: Biavax (Rubella), Havrix (hepatitis a), Imovax, MMR, M-R-vax, ProQuad (MMR), RotaShield (rotavirus), Varivax (chicken pox)

This is more of an ethical concern than a health concern. Basically, a human diploid cell is one in which two chromosomes (one from each parent) are present. The bad news is that some pharmaceutical companies are extracting these from aborted fetuses such as the WI-38 and the MRC-5.

Other Factors
It is also alarming to note that in 1986, Congress passed the National Childhood Vaccine Act which set up a fund to reimburse parents who lost their children due to vaccinations and effectively shielded pharmaceutical companies from being sued.  I can’t imagine the guilt of losing my child because I let someone inject them with micro-doses of viruses.

We also see a rise in super virus strands such as the ever-evolving flu virus. The U.S. Center for Disease control has noted that the flu vaccine has become increasingly ineffective. This is because the flu viral strands are adapting, becoming stronger.  I personally attribute this to the mass inoculations that people often take without regard.

Be Informed
My whole point is that I want you to make informed decisions. I would question every thing the doctor prescribes so that you can make an educated decision about what you allow in your body and your childrens’ bodies.

References:
Barrett, J. (2006). Potential immunotoxic effect of thimerosal. Environmental Health Perspectives.  114, 429.

Cass, H. (2006). Environmental toxin imbalances. Total Health.  28, 26-30.

Crowe, D. (2004). Thimerosal.  Canadian Journal of Health & Nutrition. 264, 64-66.

Formaldehyde and cancer. (2004). Questions and Answers, pp. 1-6.

Geler, D. and M. Geler. (2004). Neurological disorders following thimerosal-containing childhood immunizations: A follow-up analysis. International Journal of Toxicology. 23, 369-376.

Heron, J. and J. Golding. (2004). Thimerosal exposure in infants and developmental disorders: A prospective cohort study in the United Kingdom does not support a causal association. Pediatrics. 114, 577-583.

Thimerosal harms the immune system. (2006). Latitudes Online. 7, 10.

12 Comments

Filed under caedmon, crunchiness, parenting, presley, PSA

12 responses to “Why we don’t vaccinate

  1. iamweiser

    I just wanted this also added:
    From the FDA at: http://www.fda.gov/cber/vaccine/thimerosal.htm
    Thimerosal is a mercury-containing organic compound (an organomercurial). Since the 1930s, it has been widely used as a preservative in a number of biological and drug products, including many vaccines, to help prevent potentially life threatening contamination with harmful microbes. Over the past several years, because of an increasing awareness of the theoretical potential for neurotoxicity of even low levels of organomercurials and because of the increased number of thimerosal containing vaccines that had been added to the infant immunization schedule, concerns about the use of thimerosal in vaccines and other products have been raised. Indeed, because of these concerns, the Food and Drug Administration has worked with, and continues to work with, vaccine manufacturers to reduce or eliminate thimerosal from vaccines.

    Thimerosal has been removed from or reduced to trace amounts in all vaccines routinely recommended for children 6 years of age and younger, with the exception of inactivated influenza vaccine (see Table 1). A preservative-free version of the inactivated influenza vaccine (contains trace amounts of thimerosal) is available in limited supply at this time for use in infants, children and pregnant women. Some vaccines such as Td, which is indicated for older children (≥ 7 years of age) and adults, are also now available in formulations that are free of thimerosal or contain only trace amounts. Vaccines with trace amounts of thimerosal contain 1 microgram or less of mercury per dose.

  2. iamweiser

    Also wanted to say, that I do agree with you about the super viruses. Personally I do not condone flu vaccines. My children and myself will never receive them. And to the other people out there (I know you and Kevin are not guilty of this), no, David’s autism is NOT because he’s been vaccinated.

  3. Truthfully, I haven’t read this post yet but I wanted to say thank you for posting it..we still haven’t made a decision on what we are going to do in this department.

  4. Liz

    Hello Amanda – I discovered your blog a couple of months ago when searching for something like “baby must haves.” (And I must say, you’ve completely sold me on the Marathon car seat.) I was wondering if you guys had a specific book(s) that you recommend regarding immunization. I’m leaning very strongly toward *not* immunizing, but I just don’t feel like I have a strong enough case. :) Thanks for any help you might lend!

  5. We are non-vaxers too, and I really appreciate this post! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. Sylvia

    I came across your blog and would really love to know if you could recomend a book to read or web page.

    I thought little about vaccines until my ped. made me feel two inches tall for not wanting my baby to have the chicken pox vaccine. I think I made the right choice but want to know more b4 I challenge him again.

    Thanks

  7. Dale

    my 17 month old baby had 2 life threatening seizures. I am choosing not to let her have more vaccinations. I am nervous about the treatment I will recieve from the doctor, but it is my choice right now.
    I watched my daughter stop breathing, I am not willing to risk that happening again.
    thanks for the posts, they are helpful.

  8. Desiree Wilcox

    I am pregnant, and have an autistic step-child. Vaccines have not been proven to cause autism, but it has not been disproven either, and the statistics as to how much autism rose when vaccines become more prevalent have to be more than just coincidence. The numbers were enough to make me not want to vaccinate my child, and also reading from other parents is encouraging too.
    I am reading the book What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Children’s Vaccines by Stephanie Cave MD, FAAFP. It is a great resource for parents, and you are NOT required to vaccinate yoru child. Good luck, and good health! Desiree W.

  9. Kellie Ferguson

    Thank you for the info.

  10. With the exception of inactivated influenza vaccines, none of the vaccines routinely recommended for children 6 years and younger currently contain thimerosal as a preservative (FDA 2005)

    Please vaccinate! The idea that vaccines are harmful is nothing more than a conspiracy theory. Unfortunately this is VERY scary to parents, and so it spreads.

  11. amandaleggett

    Ryan, I have spent years researching vaccines from every angle and I can promise you one thing, the fact that vaccines are harmful is not a conspiracy theory and my doctor agrees with me.

    That’s all I will say in response to you as my blog is not here as a forum for arguing my parenting choices.

  12. I’m not here to argue your parental choices. What I am doing is trying to find out why people think vaccines are bad. I’m actually researching this as part of a student group on a university campus.

    It just so happened that your title fit my google search perfectly.

    Consider the Thimerosal thing debunked. However, I will look at the other things mentioned.

    All I want is evidence. Actual evidence. Not hearsay or logical fallacies.

    -take care!